Live in Au Pair or Demi Pair | Newcastle | January 2020

Updated: Jan 15

Rebecca, Daron and their two girls Leora (4) and Ashley (2) are looking for their third Au Pair starting from January 2020. They are very welcoming, friendly and easygoing Australian family who enjoys outdoor activities including skiing, mountain biking, swimming, bush walking and going to the beach. So you will not be bored!



They live in Newcastle within walking distance to the beach, natural reserve and a short drive to Newcastle city centre. You will also have your own car to explore Newcastle and surrounds. Rebecca and Daron hosted two Au Pairs so far and truly enjoyed the experience and cultural exchange it brings. Their current Au Pair is French and is happy to provide reference for the family.


Rebecca and Daron are looking for someone who is mature, proactive and has a genuine interest in looking after children and developing relationships with them. Flexibility is also important to them as they are both doctors.


Communicative English is required for this role. You will also need drivers licence and be a confident driver. Preferably you could commit to 6 months, but shorter commitment may be considered. The family offers a completion bonus for a minimum 6 month commitment.


About the family

Rebecca works part time and has a fairly fixed schedule. Daron is a surgeon, works full time and is often on call. Therefore, flexibility is important to the family.


As a family they enjoy quality time together and spending their time actively going for bush walks or mountain bike rides. They also own a boat and love to take it out onto the lake on weekends. You will be welcome to join them if you wish!


Leora is a girly girl who loves all pretty things like dancing and pretty dresses. Ashley is an expert at making the rest of the family laugh and being a bit of a comedian. She also enjoys swimming in the pool.


Both girls love to dance to music, jumping on the trampoline and jumping castles, chasing each other around the house. They also love their books and cuddles.


The girls are currently in child care for 3 days, but from January Leora will attend child care 4 days a week. This will give you a good work / life balance and also allow you to spend quality time with both girls.


Working Hours

In total you will work between 20 and 25 hours per week. Your schedule will be within the hours noted below, but note that flexibility may be required from time to time.


Monday: 5:30am and 9:30am + 1 hour of tidying up after child care drop off and then from 4:00pm to 6:30pm. On Mondays and Thursdays parents would like to exercise at 5:30am so you may be on standby on that day just in case girls wake up early.

Tuesday - 4:00pm and 6:30pm

Wednesday: 7:30am and 9:30am and then from 4:00pm to 6:30pm.

Thursday - 5:30am and 7:00am + 1 hour of tidying up and then from 4:00pm and 6:30pm.

Friday - 7:00am and 9:30am


There will be some reshuffle to the schedule next year as girls start some activities so the exact work schedule will be confirmed in due course. On occasion, Rebecca and Daron may ask you to babysit, but if hours exceed agreed weekly hours, you will be paid extra at $10 per hour.


Main tasks

- morning routine: getting kids organised for child care, prepare lunches, tidy up after breakfast, take girls to child care;

- in the afternoons, play time, going to local library, parks, taking girls to activities such as swimming or gymnastic, helping girls with unpacking their bags, cleaning lunch boxes, starting dinner preparation. On occasion when Daron is working, you may be required to help with bath and bed time routine;

- light household duties such as helping with staying on top of laundry, tidying up the kitchen and toys so house is in order, dishwasher unpacking, and cooking. The family has a cleaner who does the heavy duty cleaning on a fortnightly basis.


The family orders Hello Fresh meals which are easy to put together and all ingredients and recipes are delivered home on a weekly basis. This will meal preparation quite easy even if you are not an experienced cook!


About the accommodation & benefits

The family will provide you with a private bedroom with ensuite, free internet and pocket money between $200 and $250 depending on hours of work and your experience. The hours may vary slightly from week to week, so flexibility is required in this role, but you will be paid the agreed weekly pay even if you work less hours in some weeks. In addition, the family will pay you $10 per hour for any additional hours of work / babysitting.


One of the great perks of the role is that you will have full access to a car! The family will contribute to petrol for local travel as you will be required to drop off/pick up girls from childcare, occasionally go to the shops, etc.


In addition, the family offers a completion bonus for placement of 6 months or longer of $500 based on performance.


Location

The family lives in a large 5 bedroom house located in a suburbian Newcastle within walking distance to the beach and Glen Rock Conservation area where you can enjoy bush walks and mountain bike riding.


There is a swimming pool and an outdoor spa for you to enjoy in the house. A bus stop is within a short walking distance and train station is a short 10 minute drive. The Newcastle city is a short drive from the house. On your day off you can easily pay a visit to Sydney which is 2 hour train ride from Newcastle.


If you are a friendly, positive, flexible, mature, organised and proactive person who is passionate about looking after young children, and you feel this family would be a good fit of you, don't hesitate to contact us or apply at info@ozpair.com.au

79 views

© 2019 by Oz Pair

ABN: 28 698 836 318

Contact
Legal
Follow us
  • Facebook
  • White Instagram Icon