Live in Au/Bro Pair required in Blue Mountains - immediate start

Updated: Jan 2, 2021

If you do not like the hustle and bustle of the big city and will enjoy living in the scenic Blue Mountains, we have a perfect role for you!

Blue Mountains is the World Heritage-listed National Park, home of famous Three Sisters with many places to discover and activities to enjoy including Aboriginal culture, walking tracks, canyoning, climbing and mountain biking activities. So rest assured, you won’t be bored or lonely as there are a lot of Au Pairs who are assisting local families.

One of the great perks of the job is full access to the car so you can venture out to the city or explore Sydney famous beaches without a hassle.

About the family and the role

Kate and Damien are looking for an Au/Bro Pair who can ideally start mid July. This will give you an opportunity to spend some time with their current Au Pair, Emilia, who can show you around and introduce you to other Au Pairs in the area. They are a family of 6: Kate and her husband, Ben (5 years old) and Lachlan (7 years old), cat Bob and dog Bella! So you must be a dog person as Bella loves the attention and play time.

Emilia, current Au Pair, with boys

Both boys are at kindy/school during the day for most of the week so your main duties will be assisting with getting children ready for school, breakfast, preparing lunches, etc and school drop off and then in the afternoons collecting boys from school, preparing dinner, assisting with homework, playtime, etc. You will only have one long day on Friday. But you will enjoy Tuesdays as well as the weekends off! So you will only work 4 days.

The average hours per week will be approximately 28 to 30 hours which includes a few hours per week to assist with light household duties such as tidying up, washing kids bed sheets, folding laundry, etc and walking Bella and babysitting. Babysitting where work hours exceed 30 hours per week will be paid separately.

You must be a morning person as this role requires an early start at 7am. Your usual week will be as follows:

Monday: 7 - 9am & 3:00-6:30pm

Tuesday: OFF

Wednesday: 7 - 9am & 3:00-6:30pm

Thursday: 7 - 9am & 3:00-6:30pm

Friday: 7am - 6pm

Weekends: OFF

In return the family will pay you pocket money of $250 - $280 per week depending on your experience and length of stay with the family. You will also have a car for full personal use as well as an opal card to travel around Sydney.

If you stay with the family for 6 months, you will also receive $500 completion bonus!

Demi Pair option

The family is also open to hosting a Demi Pair for up to 20 hours a week. Core day would be Friday between 7am and 6pm, but other days are quite flexible. You could work some mornings and/or afternoons.

Kate and Damien have a family living near the city so on occasions, you could stay there over the weekend to explore Sydney CBD.

About your accommodation

The family lives in a nice house in Mt Riverview which is in lower Blue Mountains (about an hour from Sydney). They will provide you with food and accommodation in a private room with shared bathroom (with kids). You will have access to air conditioning, unlimited wifi, Foxtel, Netflix and also a separate living area upstairs for your use.

There is also a heated pool which you can enjoy on hot (or cooler) days.

Kate and Damien are looking for an Au Pair who can commit to at least 4 months but ideally you will stay with the family till December. Emilia, Kate & Damien's current Au Pair, would be happy to speak to you about the role and provide references for the family.

If you have experience in looking after children 5 - 7 years old, have drivers licence and can commit to a stay until Christmas, this can be a family for you. Good English is also a requirement.

Contact Oz Pair for more information at